Today: receiving my STL


Today I have received my STL, or Sacrae Theologiae Licentiatus (‘Licentiate in Sacred Theology’), the second of four ecclesiastical degrees of the Roman Catholic Church. The first is the Baccalaureate (which I already had), the third being the Doctorate (I will receive in in the near future). ‘But, Frank, you already had you Doctorate, on Hugo Ball, didn’t you?’ Yes, indeed: in 2014 I received my PhD at Tilburg University. And yes, that is bit tricky. Let me explain:

Secular degrees in theology

Bachelor theology (3 years)

Master (1~3 years)

Doctor (c. 4 years)

[none]

Ecclesiastical degrees in theology

Baccalaureate (STB) (5 years)

Licentiate (STL) (2 years)

Doctorate (STD) (2~3 years)

Magister (STM) (-)

So, I have the three secular ones, and the first two of the ecclesiastical ones, as of today. On the photo, prof.dr. Karim Schelkens who presented me with my STL at the faculty’s staff meeting.